Lake and Sumter Style Magazine
1:26 pm EDT
Saturday, June 12, 2021

Lake County’s 2022 Teacher of the Year Nominees Announced

They share a love of teaching and a commitment to their students, even during a pandemic. Forty-eight educators, one from each of Lake County’s public schools, are being celebrated by their peers as the 2022 Teacher of the Year for their respective school.

In December, three finalists for the district-wide Teacher of the Year designation will be announced with the winner revealed on January 28, 2021.

The individual school Teacher of the Year nominees are selected based on extensive criteria provided by the Florida Department of Education that includes demonstration of leadership, innovation and compassion in the classroom.

“To be selected as the Teacher of the Year designate for your school is an honor in any year,” says Diane Kornegay, Lake County Schools Superintendent. “However, this year’s nominees have endured many challenges due to the pandemic and truly stand out for their dedication, flexibility and professionalism. I congratulate each of the nominees and extend my heartfelt thanks for their work to help our students succeed.”

The 2022 Lake School Schools Teacher of the Year nominees follow:

Astatula Elementary – Carissa Kase

Beverly Shores Elementary – Teri Bender

Carver Middle – Michele Jones

Clermont Elementary – Stephanie Rogers

Clermont Middle – Jason Kovacsev

Cypress Ridge Elementary – Christina Caldwell

East Ridge High – Synthia Marrero-Conti

East Ridge Middle – Megan Martin

Eustis Elementary – Shelly Meneses

Eustis Heights Elementary – Shannon Clark

Eustis High – Matt Knight

Eustis Middle – Sandra Scott

Fruitland Park Elementary – Rikki Parisoe

Grassy Lake Elementary – Katie Reese-Sheppard

Gray Middle – Kimberly Rydzewski

Groveland Elementary – Tara Williams

Imagine South Lake – Jennifer Bossier

Lake County Virtual – Courtney Welch

Lake Hills – Vanessa Villa-Reyes

Lake Minneola High – Maria Metcalf

Lake Success Academy – Peter Yelverton

Lake Technical College – Beth Thornton

Leesburg Elementary – Danielle Newton

Leesburg High – Kimberly McLaughlin

Lost Lake Elementary – Christi Vollertsen

Mascotte Charter – Elizabeth C. Getchell

Minneola Charter – Traci Sickels

Mount Dora High – Erik Belanger

Mount Dora Middle – Heather Medina

Oak Park Middle – Arielle Character

Pine Ridge Elementary – Denice Ransom

Rimes ELLC – Ann Moore

Round Lake Charter – Mary Black

Sawgrass Bay Elementary – Cristina Miller

Seminole Springs Elementary – Lauren Long

Sorrento Elementary – Caitlin Flynn

South Lake High – Natalie Jeanne Tibbetts

Spring Creek Charter – Kelsie Reeder

Tavares Elementary – Sarah Garback

Tavares High – Richard Stokes

Tavares Middle – Matt Epp

Treadway Elementary – Brant Pawlowski

Triangle Elementary – Aaron Pickren

Umatilla Elementary – Brittany Girdich

Umatilla High – Bryan Totten

Umatilla Middle – Joshua Wintersdorf

Villages Elementary – Larah Sheppard

Windy Hill Middle – Brian Williams