Lake and Sumter Style Magazine
4:22 pm EDT
Mon, July 6, 2020

Heads of their class

Sawgrass_ES-FTF1013Sawgrass Bay Elementary principal Dr. Julio Valle and Tavares High School principal Dr. Janice Boyd have been selected for the Florida Department of Education’s (FLDOE) Commissioner’s Leadership Academy.

The academy is designed to enhance the participants’ leadership skills, as well as enable them to build capacity to support their colleagues at the district and/or state levels. The selected participants have produced meaningful student results and have exhibited impressive interpersonal skills with staff and members of the school and business communities.

The first academy will be held from Oct. 13–15 in Tallahassee, and the second academy will be held the first week in February in Tampa.

Did you know?

In 2007, Dr. Janice Boyd was Florida’s only recipient of the prestigious Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award. Under the leadership of Dr. Julio Valle, Sawgrass Bay Elementary has become a designated five-star school.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *