Lake and Sumter Style Magazine
8:01 pm EDT
Friday, September 18, 2020

Distinguished Alumni Honored

timmcrae_3633Among this year’s Distinguished Alumni from Lake-Sumter State College was Tim McRae, vice president of sales and marketing at Akers Media Group. Lake-Sumter State College Foundation, Inc., and the LSSC Alumni Association hosted the event, and Sheriff Gary Borders served as emcee. Selections are based on peer recommendations and notable accomplishments in one of these categories: professional, personal, academic, support of the college, and community service.

This year there were eight inductees, including, Patricia Economidis, Service to LSSC; Tim McRae, Service to Home Community; Dr. Jerry Smith, Professional Achievement; Chief Deputy Gary Brannen, President’s Award; Glenda Weber, Service to Education; Rich Billings, Young Alumni; Harry Hackney, Volunteer for Service to LSSC; and Stephen Bradley Newman, Against the Odds. LSSC also inducted five into their Hall of Fame, including, Ford Press as Corporate Partners, LSSC Investor; Dick Bowersox, LSSC Trustee, along with Dr. William Kennedy and Deborah Pate who were chosen to receive the LSSC Faculty and Staff Award.